by Orion & J.Shore

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more

    You own this




Silk Sofa is proud to present the debut artist album, "Brotherhood", of the Finnish sensation Orion & J.Shore. The duo consists of the two brothers, Juska Wendland and Joonas Mikkilä: Joonas is a choir conductor, classically trained pianist and composer, and Juska is a long-term DJ, electronic music radio host on Finnish National Radio and event producer. Throughout the album, which has been three years in the making, a vast array of live instruments are used (including pianos, violins, flutes, and more), played by 5 different musicians. Leading up to this album, Silk Music has released three of the tracks as singles, featuring remixes from Michael Cassette, Heikki L, Tom Fall, Shingo Nakamura, Turismo, and Owen Ear.

The first song, "One Sunday", introduces us to the wonderful sounds of the Finnish duo: a blissful piano line establishes a unique soundscape, joined by an enjoyable bassline and smooth, intriguing pad layers. "Architect's Dream", previously released as a single on Silk Sofa, consists of a number of instruments such as cellos, guitars, and piano, and they combine to form a stunning listening experience. In "Oasis", a sublime bass emerges beneath beautiful flute melodies, while soothing sound effects and unique melodies thrive on top. "Nails" introduces an intriguing female spoken voice as well as other mesmerizing vocal stems, and a gorgeous choir above it all creates additional texture. An enjoyable beat appears in "Departed" while different piano melodies as well as lush strings and flute layers unite beautifully. Also seen recently on Silk Royal, "White Birds" turns up the energy a little, as we witness a frisky breakbeat in this track, alongside a number of string layers and additional background melodies. "Sun", the beloved trance track from 2000 by Slusnik Luna, also gets a chillout makeover by Orion & J.Shore. Another well-known trance track from the beginning of the last decade is interpreted by the Finnish duo as well: Ralphie B's "Massive". The title track "Brotherhood" subtly offers a variety of string layers and ingenious sound textures. The last of the three singles on Silk Music leading up to this album release was "The Night After". An incredibly hypnotizing and unique guitar riff and accompanying string layers unite brilliantly. To round out the melodic journey of this album, one of the biggest drum 'n' bass tracks, London Elektricity's "Just One Second", gets a blissful chillout remix by Juska and Joonas. Elsa's soothing vocals appear in a truly lush context alongside the brothers' harmonic instrumentation.


released December 19, 2011

Written, produced and performed by Juska Wendland & Joonas Mikkilä
Recorded and mixed in Helsinki, Berlin, Tampere & Jyväskylä
Mastered by Gavin Harrison
Cover art by Jonathan Ben-Ami
Violins / cellos by Petra Piiroinen, Sauli Pulkkinen, Satu-Maija Aalto, and Iida Olsonen
Pianos by Joonas Mikkilä
Trumpet on tracks 'Architect's Dream' and 'Brotherhood' by Antti Hevosmaa
Guitars on tracks 'Architect's Dream' and 'The Night After' by Lauri Kallio
Flute on track 'The Night After' by Lauri Kallio


all rights reserved



Silk Music Los Angeles, California

Featuring intelligent & emotive electronic music, from progressive house & trance to deep house & chillout. Join us on YouTube for a 24/7 live Silk Music experience:

contact / help

Contact Silk Music

Streaming and
Download help